Nominate a Distinguished Social Scientist for SAGE-CASBS Award

Levi.Prewitt.Miller McCune
Margaret Levi, left, and Sara Miller McCune, right, pose with Ken Prewitt after he accepted the SAGE-CASBS Award three years ago. (Photo by Nikki Richter)

Nominations to honor an individual whose work has advanced the role of the social and behavioral sciences in enriching and enhancing public policy and good governance are being taken now. The honoree will join luminaries such as William Julius Wilson and Daniel Kahneman as recipient of the SAGE-CASBS Award, sponsored by the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University and SAGE Publishing. (SAGE is the parent of Social Science Space.)

Established in 2013, the SAGE-CASBS Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the behavioral and social sciences that advance our understanding of pressing social issues. In a joint statement, SAGE founder and executive chairman Sara Miller McCune and CASBS director Margaret Levi stated that “social and behavioral science research has the unique capacity to improve human welfare in a way that other sciences cannot,” and that both the social and behavioral scientists and their work deserve equally unique recognition.

The deadline for nominations is March 16, 2020. No self-nominations will be accepted. A six-person panel of judges, chaired by Miller McCune and Levi, will decide on the winner.

The award recipient will receive a cash prize. They will also deliver a public lecture at CASBS’s campus at California in November 2020.

Kahneman, 2002 Nobel laureate in economic sciences and author of the acclaimed book, Thinking, Fast and Slow, was the inaugural winner of the award. The other four winners were Pedro Noguera, the sociologist, education rights activist, and Distinguished Professor of Education at the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at UCLA; Kenneth Prewitt, former director of the U.S. Census Bureau and the Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs at Columbia University; Wilson, the Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor at Harvard University; and Carol Dweck, the Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology at Stanford University.

While award winners do not need to be fellows of CASBS, Kahneman was a CASBS fellow in 1977-78; Prewitt in 1983-84; Wilson in 1981-82; and Dweck was a consulting scholar in 2014-15.

CASBS was founded in 1954 and in the years since has hosted distinguished scholars and scientists for short- and long-term research networks, projects, and that aim to advance understanding of human beliefs, behaviors, interactions, and institutions. Among its more than 2,500 fellows have been 27 Nobel laureates and 51 MacArthur ‘genius grant’ recipients.

More details, submission criteria, and the nomination form are available here.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University is a national and international resource that exists to extend knowledge of the principles governing human behavior to help solve the critical problems of contemporary society. Through our residential postdoctoral fellowship programs for scientists and scholars from this country and abroad, we seek to advance basic understanding of the social, psychological, historical, biological and cultural foundations of behavior and society.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x