CASBS Names 2014-15 Class of Fellows

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University has named 28 scholars to its fellowship class of 2014-15. Since 1954, CASBS fellowships have been awarded to scholars working in a diverse range of disciplines. The incoming class represents a diversity of fields within the behavioral sciences: anthropology, communication, digital media and computer science, economics, education, history, linguistics, law, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health, rhetoric, and sociology.

CASBS also has named seven visiting scholars, a list that may grow.

casbslogoFellows have played key roles in starting new fields, ranging from cognitive science to behavioral economics to the sociology of urban poverty, and have developed new policies and practices in fields as diverse as medicine, education, electoral politics, Third World development, and crime prevention. Fellows often have worked most effectively as part of a group that is dedicated to addressing a specific problem. We build on that tradition, and now not only invite groups who have their own agenda but also identify specific problems and recruit appropriate scientists and scholars to be members of groups that address these problems.

Since its founding, more than 2,300 scholars have been CASBS fellows, including 22 Nobel laureates, 14 Pulitzer Prize winners, 44 MacArthur Fellows, 13 recipients of the John Bates Clark medal in economics for scholars under 40 years of age, more than 100 recent Guggenheim fellowships, 22 winners of the Bancroft Prize, 20 recipients of the National Book Award, 21 recipients of the National Medal of Science and hundreds of members of the National Academy of Sciences. The vast majority of CASBS fellowships were awarded before these other prizes were given — underscoring our stellar record of identifying top talent at a critical period in their scholarly trajectory.

This year’s CASBS scholars, presented in alphabetical order along with their core discipline and current home institution, are:

Kyle Bagwell, Economics, Stanford University

Valentina Bosetti, Economics, Bocconi University, Milan, Italy

John Bound, Economics, University of Michigan

Ivano Caponigro, Linguistics, University of California at San Diego

Summerson Carr, Anthropology, University of Chicago

Charles S. Carver, Psychology, University of Miami

Damon Centola, Sociology, Annenberg School of Communications, University of Pennsylvania

Michael Chwe, Political Science, University of California at Los Angeles

Marianne Constable, Rhetoric/Law, University of California at Berkeley

Joshua Dienstag, Political Science, University of California at Los Angeles

Mary L. Dudziak, History, Emory University

Joan H. Fujimura, Sociology, University of Wisconsin

Arline T. Geronimus, Public Health/Population Studies, University of Michigan

Robert Gibbons, Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

D. Fox Harrell, Digital Media and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Chris S. Hulleman, Psychology/Education, University of Virginia

Katherine Isbister, Digital Media and Computer Science, New York University

Jenann T. Ismael, Philosophy, University of Arizona

Richard Leo, Sociology/Law, University of San Francisco

Kent Lightfoot, Anthropology, University of California at Berkeley

Margaret O’Mara, History, University of Washington

Ann Shola Orloff, Sociology, Northwestern University

Parker Shipton, Anthropology, Boston University

Paul E. Starr, Sociology, Princeton University

Massimo Tavoni, Economics, Polytechnic University of Milan

Fred Turner, Communication, Stanford University

Maryanne Wolf, Psychology/Education, Tufts University

David Yeager, Psychology/Education, University of Texas

This year’s visiting scholars are:

Ann Baynes Coiro, English Literature, Rutgers University

Youngmee Kim, Psychology, University of Miami

Marshall Ganz, Sociology/Political Science, Harvard University

Arnold Milstein, Medicine, Stanford University

Frances Morphy, Anthropology, Australian National University

Howard Morphy, Anthropology, Australian National University

Peter Stansky, History, Stanford University

In addition to this year’s cohort of fellows and visiting scholars, at least two formally organized groups of collaborative scholars will use the Center as their base: the Mindset Collaborative, which studies and promotes a growth mindset, as it’s known, to enhance student learning and achievement; and the Clinical Excellence Research Center, which is designing and pilot-testing innovations in care delivery to safely slow national health care spending.

The coming year’s Mindset Collaborative scholars are  Angela Duckworth, Psychology, University of Pennsylvania; Carol S. Dweck, Psychology, Stanford University; Ellen Konar, Business/Psychology, Mindset Works; and Greg Walton, Psychology, Stanford University.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University is a national and international resource that exists to extend knowledge of the principles governing human behavior to help solve the critical problems of contemporary society. Through our residential postdoctoral fellowship programs for scientists and scholars from this country and abroad, we seek to advance basic understanding of the social, psychological, historical, biological and cultural foundations of behavior and society.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x