CASBS, SAGE Seek to Honor Academics or Researchers With Policy Successes

Every year the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University and SAGE Publishing (the parent of Social Science Space) award someone who has made an outstanding contribution by using social and behavioral research to address or understand vital social concerns.

Casbs_logoLast year, for example, the SAGE-CASBS Award went to political scientist Kenneth Prewitt, the Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs at Columbia University. In his former role as director of the U.S. Census bureau, Prewitt did yeoman’s work to ensure the 2000 Census counted all Americans – especially those traditionally undercounted due to racial, demographic or practical reasons.

The year before, sociologist Pedro Noguera, the Peter L. Agnew Professor of Education at New York University, received the award. An activist in education, Noguera has spent his career using his scholarship to attack “wicked” social problems like youth violence, school failure, urban poverty and racial disparities.

And in the award’s debut year of 2013, it was psychologist Daniel Kahneman, the 2002 Nobel laureate in economic sciences, whose work on behavioral economics (and marshmallows!) has been foundational in creating the discipline.

CASBS is now taking nominations for the fourth edition of the prize, to be awarded in the spring of 2017. The nominee should be an academic or researcher and can come from anywhere in the world and represent any social or behavioral discipline, but in keeping with CASBS’ own interdisciplinary approach, those who have worked across fields will be particularly valued. While both Kahneman and Prewitt had been CASBS fellows, that is not a prerequisite. And you cannot nominate yourself.

The selection committee will be co-chaired by Sara Miller McCune, SAGE’s founder and executive chairman, and CASBS Director Margaret Levi, and includes three additional members.

“Research conducted in the social and behavioral sciences has the unique capacity to improve the human condition in a way that other sciences cannot,” Miller McCune and Levi were quoted in a joint statement. “Social and behavioral scientists deserve to be recognized for the important impact of their work.”

More details, submission criteria and the nomination form are available HERE. The deadline to submit nominations is November 30, and the winner will be announced in February. The winner will receive a cash prize and deliver a lecture at Stanford University in California in the spring or summer of next year.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x