CASBS Names 36 Scholars to its Newest Class of Fellows

CASBS grounds
The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences grounds in Palo Alto, California as they appeared in 1954, the eyar the center was founded.

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University on Tuesday named its 2022-23 fellows class, comprising 36 scholars representing 17 U.S. institutions and 12 international institutions and programs.

The incoming fellows conduct research in a diversity of fields within or intersecting the social and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, communication, economics, education, geography, history, law, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, public affairs, public policy and urban studies, public health and nutrition, science and technology studies, and sociology.

“Each year since 1954, a select group of distinguished thinkers and scholars have explored pressing societal questions and issues as members of the Center’s residential fellows program. It’s a renowned, enduring legacy,” said CASBS Deputy Director Sally Schroeder.

This is the final CASBS class selected under a fellowship selection committee that includes Margaret Levi, who is set to step down this summer after more than eight years of service as CASBS director.

Several fellowships are funded by some of the Center’s partner fellowship programs.

  • The Science and Technology Policy Research and Information Center within the National Applied Research Laboratories of Taiwan, a federal government agency, will support Tzu-wei Hung  as a Stanford-Taiwan Social Science fellow. This is the seventh year of fellows at CASBS under this partnership.
  • For the fourth consecutive year, the Chinese University of Hong Kong will support one CUHK-Stanford University CASBS fellow, Wilson Wong.
  • The center, in collaboration with South Africa’s Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study, will host its third STIAS-Iso Lomso fellow, Lukman Abdulrauf.
  • One fellow, Riana Anderson, will be in residence as part of CASBS’s longstanding association with the William T. Grant Scholars Program.
  • Under a new partnership with Curriculum Open-access Resources in Economics, CASBS will host its first CORE fellow, Simon Halliday. CORE is an open-access economics project governed by CORE Economics Education with a mission to reform the teaching of economics.

In addition to fellows, CASBS has three other appointment designations: visiting scholars (academics who are spouses/partners of fellows), research affiliates (non-Stanford scholars who lead CASBS-based research projects), and faculty fellows (Stanford faculty who lead CASBS-based research projects). The Center will finalize these appointments by late spring or summer. And it is possible that additional fellows will join the roster in the coming months.

The members of the new cohort are named below, followed by the dominant scholarly field and their home institution or affiliation:

Lukman Abdulrauf, Law, University of Ilorin

Riana Anderson, Public Health and Nutrition, University of Michigan

Claudia N Avellaneda, Political Science, Indiana University Bloomington

Jean Beaman, Sociology, University of California, Santa Barbara

Christian Breunig, Political Science, University of Konstanz

Cameron Campbell, Sociology, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Simukai Chigudu, Political Science, Oxford University

Nitsan Chorev, Sociology, Brown University

Tom Clark, Political Science, Emory University

Veena Dubal, Law, University of California-Hastings College of Law

Paulla Ebron, Anthropology, Stanford University

Zimitri Erasmus, Sociology, University of the Witwatersrand

Henry Farrell, Political Science, Johns Hopkins University

Patricio A. Fernandez, Philosophy, University of California-Santa Barbara

Adam Goodman, History, University of Illinois at Chicago

Simon Halliday, Economics, University of Bristol

Eran Halperin, Psychology, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Tzu-wei Hung, Philosophy, Academia Sinica

Brian Jefferson, Geography, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Jeffrey Kahn, Anthropology, University of California-Davis

Neil Malhotra, Political Science, Stanford University

Jorge Nathan Matias, Communication, Cornell University

Christin Munsch, Sociology, University of Connecticut

Sylvia Perry, Psychology, Northwestern University

Dianne Pinderhughes, Political Science, University of Notre Dame

Toni Schmader, Psychology, University of British Columbia

Dan Simon, Law, University of Southern California

Rebecca Slayton, Science and Technology Studies, Cornell University

Eswaran Somanathan, Economics, Indian Statistical Institute

Rohini Somanathan, Economics, Delhi School of Economics

Julia Ticona, Communication, University of Pennsylvania

Greg Walton, Psychology, Stanford University

Martin J. Williams, Public Affairs, Public Policy and Urban Studies, Oxford University

Maisha Winn, Education, University of California-Davis

Wilson Wong, Public Affairs, Public Policy and Urban Studies, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Seema Yasmin, Medicine and Communication, Stanford University

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences

The Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University is a national and international resource that exists to extend knowledge of the principles governing human behavior to help solve the critical problems of contemporary society. Through our residential postdoctoral fellowship programs for scientists and scholars from this country and abroad, we seek to advance basic understanding of the social, psychological, historical, biological and cultural foundations of behavior and society.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x