Arnab Bhattacharjee and Mark Schaffer

Arnab Bhattacharjee is a professor of economics at Heriot-Watt University. He works primarily in applied econometrics, focusing on foundations and methods to analyse spatial, panel and cross-section data, and with applications to several areas within the disciplines of economics and allied social sciences. Mark Schaffer is also a professor of economics at Heriot-Watt, His fields of research include transition and emerging economies, labor markets, applied econometrics, economic history, quantitative criminology and energy economics.

Economics Nobel 2019: Why Banerjee, Duflo and Kremer Won

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2019 (commonly known as the Nobel Prize for Economics) has been awarded to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.” Through the award, the Nobel committee recognized both the significance of development economics in the world today and the innovative approaches developed by these three economists.

3 years ago