UK’s Academy of Social Sciences Names 75 Fellows for Autumn 2021

Britain’s Academy of Social Sciences has named 75 social scientists from the academic, public, private and third sectors as Fellows of the Academy for autumn of 2021. Following an independent peer review process, new fellows are recognized for the excellence and impact of their work and their wider contributions to the social sciences for public benefit.

Currently the academy includes 1,400 individual fellows in its ranks.

The latest cohort of fellows announced on September 29 are:

Timothy David Grant | professor of forensic linguistics, Aston University

Mark Easton | home editor, BBC

Jonathan Breckon | director, Breckon Consulting Ltd

Viki Cooke | co-founder and chair, BritainThinks & WorldThinks

Margaret Greenfields | professor of social policy and community engagement, Buckinghamshire New University

Emmanuel Ogbonna | professor of management, Cardiff University

Dermot Bowler | professor of psychology, City University of London

Clare Kelliher | professor of work and organization, Cranfield University

Clare Lombardelli | director general, chief economic advisor and joint head of the Government Economic Service, HM Treasury

Sergio Iavicoli | director of the Department of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, Epidemiology and Hygiene, INAIL Italian Workers’ Compensation Authority, Italy

Melissa Leach | director, Institute of Development Studies

Kelly Beaver | managing director, Ipsos MORI Public Affairs division

Sir Robert Chote | economist, visiting professor King’s College London and former chair of the Office for Budget Responsibility

Samuel Greene | professor of Russian politics and director of the King’s Russia Institute, King’s College London

Andy Sumner | professor of international development, King’s College London

Malcolm Tight | professor of higher education, Lancaster University

Tahir Abbas | associate professor of terrorism and political violence, Leiden University

Baroness Minouche Shafik, DBE | director, London School of Economics and Political Science

Véronique Ambrosini | professor of management (strategic management), Monash University

Campbell Robb | chief executive, Nacro

Kate Henderson | chief executive, National Housing Federation

Jeremy Crampton | professor of urban data analysis, Newcastle University

David Booth | senior research associate, Overseas Development Institute

Tim Vorley | pro vice-chancellor and dean of business school, Oxford Brookes University

Iain Bell | National Director for Public Health Data, Knowledge and Research at Public Health Wales

Laura Hammond | professor of development studies, University College London

Paul Bradshaw | director, ScotCen

Stuart Fancey | director of research and innovation, Scottish Funding Council

Wenzhong Shi | Chair Professor of Geographic Information Science and Remote Sensing, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Giles Mohan | professor of international development, The Open University

Kathryn Woodward | professor of sociology, The Open University

Shenjing He | professor of urban studies, The University of Hong Kong

Sam Beckett | second permanent secretary and deputy chief executive of the UK Statistics Authority and joint head of the Government Economic Service

Stavroula Leka | professor of work organization and well-being, University College Cork

Andrew Barry | professor of human geography, University College London

Adam Dennett | associate professor of urban analytics, University College London

Mark Galeotti | honorary professor at the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London

Mordechai Haklay | professor of geographic information service, University College London

Liz Varga | professor of complex systems, University College London

Anne White | M. B. Grabowski Professor of Polish Studies and Social and Political Science, School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London

Kimberley Scharf | professor of economics and public policy, University of Birmingham

Kataryna Wolczuk | professor of East European politics, University of Birmingham

Stewart Lansley | visiting fellow of the School of Policy Studies, University of Bristol

Jennifer Howard-Grenville | Diageo Professor of Organisation Studies, University of Cambridge

Elisabete Silva | professor of spatial planning, University of Cambridge

Bhaskar Vira | professor of political economy, University of Cambridge

Lorraine van Blerk | associate dean research and professor of human geography, University of Dundee

Cecile Jackson | professor of development studies, University of East Anglia

Jamie Pearce | professor of health geography, University of Edinburgh

Thankom Arun | professor of global development and accountability, University of Essex

John Preston | deputy dean (research) and professor of sociology, University of Essex

Monika Schmid | professor of linguistics, University of Essex

Jo Little | professor of gender and geography, University of Exeter

Sayantan Ghosal | Adam Smith Chair in Political Economy, University of Glasgow

Adrian Pabst | deputy director for social and political economy at the National Institute of Economic and Social Research and professor of politics at University of Kent

Jane Holgate | professor of work and employment relations, University of Leeds

Lucie Byrne-Davis | professor of health psychology, University of Manchester

Diana Mitlin | professor of global urbanism, University of Manchester

Meryem Duygun | Aviva Chair in Risk and Insurance, University of Nottingham

Sabina Alkire | director of the Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative, University of Oxford

Patricia Daley | professor of the human geography of Africa, University of Oxford

Xiaolan Fu | professor of technology and international development, University of Oxford

Frances Gardner | professor of child and family psychology, University of Oxford

Antonia Layard | professor of law, University of Oxford

Tim Schwanen | professor of transport geography, University of Oxford

Frances Stewart | emeritus professor of development economics, University of Oxford

Dariusz Wójcik | professor of economic geography, University of Oxford

Pamela Maureen Denicolo | emeritus professor of professional and postgraduate education, University of Reading

Kathryn Pain | professor of real estate development, University of Reading

Sabu Padmadas | professor of demography and global health, University of Southampton

Nina Laurie | professor of geography and development, University of St Andrews

Philip Taylor | professor of work and employment studies, University of Strathclyde

Graham Miller | pro-vice-chancellor and professor of sustainability in business, University of Surrey

Gurminder Bhambra | professor of postcolonial and decolonial studies, University of Sussex

Michaela Trippl | professor of economic geography, University of Vienna

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Academy of Social Sciences

The Academy of Social Science’s mission is to promote social sciences in the United Kingdom for the public benefit. The academy is composed of individual academicians and learned societies; it responds to government and other consultations on behalf of the social science community, organizes meetings about social science and seminars on topics that span social science disciplines, and sponsors a number of efforts that promote social science and enhance its value to society.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x