Nomination Window Closing For 2024 Alan T. Waterman Award

Nominations are being taken through Septembr 15 for the 2024 Alan T. Waterman Award, an annual prize that recognizes early-career researchers who have made achievements that impact science or engineering. The award is the highest honor for young scientists and engineers in the United States.

The U.S. Congress created the award in 1975 to celebrate the National Science Foundation’s 25-year anniversary. The award pays tribute to Alan T. Waterman, a physicist, educator and NSF’s first director.

Researchers from the following NSF-supported disciplines can be nominated for the award: social behavioral and economic sciences, biological sciences, computer and information science and engineering, engineering, mathematical and physical sciences, geosciences and research on STEM education. Award recipient(s) receive $1 million over five years to support their research at any institution, along with a medal.

NSF is seeking diverse nominees who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Nominees must be 40 or younger or must have received their Ph.D. within the last 10 years. Nominees will be reviewed by the Alan T. Waterman Award committee, which will recommend stand-out candidates to the NSF director and the National Science Board.

Those interested in submitting a nomination should read the nomination form description, the letter of reference template and the list of nomination tips. Nominators will submit the nominee’s contact information, eligibility, education, positions held and honors along with a proposed citation, a narrative statement about the nominee’s work, up to 20 of the nominee’s publications and four reference letters.

The deadline to submit a nomination is Sept. 15, 2023. To nominate a researcher for the prize, visit the NSF Honorary Awards portal.

Recent recipients of the Alan T. Waterman Award include:

Natalie S. King (2023)
William Anderegg (2023)
Asegun Henry (2023)
Daniel B. Larremore (2022)
Lara A. Thompson (2022)
Jessica E. Tierney (2022)
Nicholas Carnes (2021)
Melanie Matchett Wood (2021)
Emily Balskus (2020)
John Dabiri (2020)
Mark Braverman (2019)
Jennifer A. Dionne (2019)
Kristina Olson (2018)
Baratunde A. Cola (2017)
John V. Pardon (2017)
Mircea Dinca (2016)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x